A guide to Gyeonggi-do

A province where the past,present and future meet.

In this article, we’re going to embark on a journey through Gyeonggi-do. Before we get to learn about which cities come under this province let’s fisr learn about Gyeongi-do

Geographically, Gyeonggi-do surrounds Seoul, the capital city of the Republic of Korea, and is the center and the economic hub of the country. With two airports and two ports, it allows easy access to any city in Northeast Asia within two hours. The name “Gyeonggi” means “outer land of kingdom’s capital” and reflects the province’s historic role in protecting the royal palace. Since 1018, Gyeonggi has been specially treated as the area guarding the capital of the kingdom. This is why you can find Suwon Hwaseong Fortress and the Royal Tombs of the Joseon Dynasty here.

Gyeonggi Province has also become the center of Hallyu, or the Korean Wave. Many popular Korean dramas, such as Dae Jang Geum, Moon Embracing the Sun, and The Great Queen Seondeok, were filmed in Gyeonggi. The music video for Psy’s hit song “Gentleman” which was a massive big global hit in 2012 was also filmed in Gyeonggi.

But before we get into the details, did you know Gyeonggi-do consists of 31 cities and counties 😱 Let’s take a look at each one of them.

Pictture Credits: Gyeonggi City Hall

Cities and Counties under Gyeonggi-do

  1. Gapyeong-gun
  2. Gwangju
  3. Namyangju
  4. Suwon
  5. Anyang
  6. Yeoncheon-gun
  7. Uijeongbu
  8. Pocheon
  9. Goyang
  10. Guri
  11. Dongducheon
  12. Siheung
  13. Yangju
  14. Osan
  15. Incheon
  16. Hanam
  17. Gwacheon
  18. Gunpo
  19. Bucheon
  20. Ansan
  21. Yangpyeong
  22. Yongin
  23. Paju
  24. Hwaseong
  25. Gwangmyeong
  26. Gimpo
  27. Seongnam
  28. Anseong
  29. Yeoju
  30. Ulwang
  31. Pyeongtaek

+ There are no comments

Add yours